Tags

,

Half-full or half-empty

“Fill me with your Holy Spirit.”  “Make me more like you.”  “Show me your way.”

These are all phrases that I’ve said in my life at some point or another.  Heartfelt.  Impassioned.  Sincere.

But these are inaccurate.

In order to be like Christ, the divine, I must be empty.  Void.  Bare.  Nothing.

If I ask to be filled with the Spirit, it will be adding pure snow to a toxic wasteland.

Instead, I must search those parts that are wrong, purge them, and He will have room to fill.  I have to get out of the way.  There are no conditions.  No rationality.  No opportunity to say, “You can take this but not that.”

It doesn’t work like that.

“Seek, and you shall find.”

There is no limit to what Christ can do if I am nothing.

I should study Aikido…

