Tags

,

Bee

Okay!  Here’s the deal!

Do you REALLY care…

that I’m not from Montana; that I went to a Baptist university; that I don’t like my foods touching each other on my plate; that I’m heterosexual; that I love dogs and not cats; that I have two finches named Drambuie and Benedictine; that I am Republican; that I like tomatoes and spaghetti and tomato basil soup but can’t stand ketchup………

So!

Do I REALLY care…

that you are from Oklahoma; that you are Atheist; that you prefer cats; that you are homosexual; that you are Liberal; that you like milk chocolate; that you put ketchup on everything; that you don’t ever rinse the dishes before you put them in the dishwasher; that you drive 5 miles an hour under the speed limit all the time……..

I don’t understand this notion of qualifying ourselves, attaching labels on ourselves.  While in the intent it might appear to be inclusive and encouraging dialogue, in reality it is divisive and exclusive.  Like Robert Frost’s “good fences make good neighbors”.  I am baffled by this concept that we all have to categorize ourselves and then identify those that we like and dislike and THEN tell everyone else what those decisions are.

*shaking my head*

I just don’t see the need for labels.  I see you.  I see how you are and react and respond to others.  I see how you carry yourself.  I’m intrigued.  So I go and talk to you.  In our conversation I learn, OH GOOD GRIEF!!!  You like brussel sprouts???!!!!  You.  Are.  A.   Loser.!!!  I can’t be associated with you any longer.

*again shaking my head*

People:  here’s the deal:

Just BE!!!

Just be who you are without the need for labels or interpretations or qualifiers or footnotes or exceptions.

Just be.

